Share this page Print

About FCSS


Home About FCSS Success Stories

SROI and Other Initiatives Funding Framework

Agency Resources Funded Agencies

Updates Contact


Our vision
Calgarians working together to create and sustain a vibrant, safe and caring community.

Our mission
FCSS partners with community agencies, City business units and other funders, to fund preventive social services that support and enhance the lives of Calgarians.

FCSS program management
Community & Neighbourhood Services manages the FCSS funding program. Service planning and funding allocation are two primary roles of FCSS. FCSS collaborates with agencies and the community to align activities with demonstrated best or promising practices that increase protective factors and/or reduce risk factors.

For more information on funding and how to apply visit the Agency Resources page.

FCSS Board
The Standing Policy Committee on Community and Protective Services acts as the FCSS board. The board reviews administration's recommendations for FCSS funding allocation and policy development, and forwards its recommendations to City Council for final approval.

2015/2016 FCSS Board Members

Mayor Naheed Nenshi, Mayor (Ex-Officio) Councillor Diane Colley-Urquhart, Member of Council (Chair)
Councillor Evan Woolley, Member of Council (Vice-Chair) Councillor Sean Chu, Member of Council
Councillor Gian-Carlo Carra, Member of Council Councillor Richard Pootmans, Member of Council
Councillor Brian Pincott, Member of Council

Councillor Jim Stevenson, Member of Council

The FCSS team comprised Social Planners who have been assigned to specific outcome areas, as well as Finance and Administrative supports. To contact one of the team members, please email us at

Barbara Schleifer – Social Planner Heather White – Social Planner
Bozena Ciechanska – Resource Assistant Jason Luan – Social Planner
Colleen Oliver – Administrative Assistant Menna Kebede - A/Team Lead
Elizabeth Schnitzler – Social Planner Paula Salter – Social Planner
Elizabeth Zator – Financial Coordinator Sharon Goulet – Social Planner
Robbie White – Social Planner Robyn Donald - Business Change & Process Specialist

Advisory Group
The FCSS Advisory Group includes representatives from currently funded agencies. This group functions as a reference group for FCSS administration, provides feedback for funding, enhances communication between administration and funded agencies, and helps profile FCSS programs and agencies.

2014/2015 FCSS Advisory Group

Cheryl Doherty, Boys and Girls Clubs of Calgary  
Cheryl Joynt, Community Neighbourhood Services, City of Calgary Mark Laycock, Métis Child and Family Services
Elaine Cairns, Further Education Society (FESA) Penny Hume, Youth Central Society
Jeff Loomis, Momentum Quentin Sinclair, Hillhurst-Sunnyside Community Association
Krystyna Biel, Immigrant Services Calgary Susan Gillies, Women's Centre of Calgary
Larry Horeczy, Calgary Legal Guidance Society Susan Mallon, CARYA

FCSS Sustainability Forum

The FCSS Calgary Sustainability Forum consists of a City Councillor, City of Calgary staff, executive directors and other representatives of agencies funded by FCSS. Since 2008, the members have acted as advocates to increase provincial FCSS budget to respond to inflation and the increasing demand for preventive social services. The Forum members visit Calgary MLAs and various Ministers to convey the need for program sustainability and growth.

2015-16 FCSS Calgary Sustainability Forum Members

Brian Pincott, Calgary City Councillor Marty Hornstein, Jewish Family Service of Calgary
Elsbeth Mehrer, YWCA Calgary Pam Krause, Calgary Sexual Health Centre
Geoff Braun, Calgary Chamber of Voluntary Organizations Patricia Jones, Catholic Family Service Calgary
George Ghitan, Hull Services Sharlyn White, FCSS Association of Alberta
Joe Ceci, Momentum Sue Mallon, CARYA
Krystyna Biel, Immigrant Service Calgary Trish Bronsch, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Calgary
Marilyn Gunn, Community Kitchen Program of Calgary