Share this page Print

Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award

The Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee (CAUAC) Youth Achievement Award annually recognizes Aboriginal Youth who:

  • Demonstrates leadership in the community and among his/her peer group.
  • Displays a strong desire and commitment to achieve educational goals.
  • Supports and encourages others to continue in their academic endeavors.
  • Encourages and participates in cross-cultural activities involving Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities.

The award is open to all Aboriginal youth, including First Nations status and non-status, Métis and Inuit. Nominees must be between the ages of 14-24, attending junior or senior high school or a post secondary facility. As well, nominees must be living within Calgary city limits or attending a Calgary school. Award recipient will be given the opportunity to represent Aboriginal youth as a member of the Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee.

Nominations are now closed, and the winner of the Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award will be announced in June.

The CAUAC Youth Achievement Award Winners are:

2017 Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award: Latasha Calf Robe, 24, is a graduate of Mount Royal University with a Bachelor's Degree in Business, and a minor in Indigenous Studies and Innovation & Entrepreneurship. Latasha is a proud Blackfoot student from the Blood Reserve in southern Alberta and utilizes her traditional teachings from her community in all her work. In founding the Niitsitapi (Blackfoot) Resiliency and Empowerment Discussion Group in 2016, Latasha has created a positive space for the Mount Royal community -- a place to celebrate Indigenous resiliency and empower her peers. Latasha’s academic work and leadership has helped bring the community together to bridge generational, cultural, and ethnic differences through dialogue and storytelling.  She was a featured panelist at an Access to Education, hosted by Mount Royal University, to discuss barriers Aboriginal students encounter at post-secondary institutions and how to overcome them. This year, she also presented the student address at Mount Royal University for the visit of the Honorable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada. In addition to her academic achievement, Latasha’s involvement with student life demonstrates her strong desire and deep commitment to education, culture and her community.

2017: Latasha Calf Robe
2016: Jolene Houle
2015: Macyn Morning Bull
2014: Angela Gladeau
2013: Nikkole Heavy Shield
2012: Alaine Crowchief
2011: Neepin Auger
2010: Chantel Large
2009: Caitlyn Pantherbone
2006: Kristen Acuna
2005: Jessica McMann
2004: Ms. Melinda Bain
2003: Ms. Nicole Akuna
2002: Ms. Autumn Eagle Speaker
2001: Mr. Jason Wuttanee, Ms. Robin Twigg, Ms. Nellie Meguinis
2000: Mr. Darcy Turning Robe
1999: Ms. Amanda Chersinoff
1998: Mr. Christopher Buggins
1997: Mr. Bryce Starlight
1996: Mr. Blue Cloud Michael Eaglespeaker Williams
1995: Mr. Shawn Gary Wade Butt
1994: Ms. Rozalyn Prairie Chicken
1993: Ms. Vada Hoof
1992: Ms. Bobbie Jo Turning Robe​​