Share this page Print

Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award

Chief David Crowchild
Chief David Crowchild

Each year this award is presented to honour the efforts and contributions of a person, group or organization both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal who have:

  • Created bridges of understanding through cross cultural experiences between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal cultures within the City of Calgary
  • Created within Canadian society an understanding of the uniqueness and value of Aboriginal culture
  • Encouraged or supported Aboriginal people in the areas of education, employment and training

Nominations are now closed, and the winner of this year’s Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award will be announced in June.

Recipients of the Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award

2017 Winner of Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award: Elaine Cairns. With over 20 years of experience in education, Elaine is a literacy specialist who has developed curricula and facilitator training for Indigenous learning programs.  Elaine has worked with isolated communities, and provided mentoring and facilitator training for Indigenous community workers and trainers.  The curricula she has worked on embraces Aboriginal traditions and focuses on sharing of information. Every community is different. She works with community members to incorporate the knowledge of Elders about how to share the traditions and culture.  With these learning programs, families are able to share, teach,  and build relationships within and outside their communities.  Elaine is currently the executive director of the Further Education Society of Alberta (FESA), which she co-founded in 1996.

2017: Elaine Cairns
2016: Shawna Cunningham
2015: USAY/UofC; Uncovering Colonial Legacies
2014: Cindy Provost
2013: Carol Mason
2012: Leonard Bastien
2011: Mike Lickers
2010: Sandra Crazy Bull
2009: Vinnia Van Over Dyke
2008: Gloria Skinner
2007: Audrey Weasel Traveller
2006: Al Duerr
2005: Major Ed Boucher, (Retired)
2004: Ghost River Rediscovery
2002: Mr. Geoff Burtonshaw
2001: Mr. Pablo Russell, Mr. Michael Robinson
2000: Mr. Harry Huish
1999: Rev. Margaret Waterchief, Mr. Casey Eagle Speaker
1998: Mrs. Annie Bare Shin Bone
1997: Mr. Art Cunningham
1996: Ms. Joan Ryan
1995: Mr. Tom Jackson
1994: Mr. George Calliou
1993: Aboriginal Opportunities Committee - Chamber of Commerce
1992: Mr. Ronald Vivier
1991: Ms. Doreen Spence
1990: Mr. Harold Millican
1989: Calgary Indian Friendship Centre
1988: Mr. Hart A. Cantelon
1987: Mr. Nelson Gutnick
1986: Ms. Pauline Gladstone-Dempsey​​