The 14 Street W main street runs through the communities of Hillhurst, Sunalta, Beltline (Connaught), Bankview, lower Mount Royal, Mount Royal, and South Calgary. The north and south sections of the river developed separately until the Mewata Bridge opened in 1954.
North of the river, 14 Street is characterised by mid-century, low-rise commercial development, with mid-rise residential buildings dating from the 1960s and later. Side streets are almost exclusively single-family homes, and a number of original residences remain in Edwardian, Queen Anne Revival, and Arts and Crafts (Craftsman) styles alongside newer in-fills from the 1940s and 50s up until the early 21st Century.
South of the river is characterized by light industrial and commercial buildings. From 10 to 17 Avenue SW, 14 Street is lined with mid-to-high rise residential buildings, including some unique examples of mid-century commercial architecture, like the Condon Building, low-rise commercial and a few landmark heritage properties, like Sacred Heart church. This stretch of 14 Street once formed the boundary of the Town of Calgary, when it was first established in 1884.
From 17 Avenue to 24 Avenue SW, 14 Street is lined with mid-century apartment buildings. Fewer apartment buildings exist beyond 24 Avenue SW to 33 Avenue SW but some examples of Edwardian single-family residences can be seen.
By 1919, there had been sufficient development in Bankview, Mount Royal and South Calgary to warrant the extension of a streetcar line to 34 Avenue SW. The Number 7 made the area attractive for people to live in the suburbs and commute to work downtown. In 1934, a four block area around 25 Avenue SW was zoned for local commercial activity and still services the surrounding communities today.