Share this page Print

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize is awarded in honour of acclaimed Calgary writer W.O. Mitchell and recognizes literary achievement by Calgary authors. The $5000 prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book published in the preceding year. Entries are judged by an independent jury recruited by the Writers' Guild of Alberta.

Established in 1996, the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize is coordinated through a partnership between The City of Calgary and the Writers' Guild of Alberta, which administers the award process as part of the annual Alberta Literary Awards.

The 2017 recipient was Taylor Lambert for his book titled "Darwin’s Moving"


Eligibility Criteria

  • The book's publication date must be in 2018.
  • The author must have lived in Calgary for a minimum of two years, as of December 31, 2018.
  • The following types of writing are eligible: fiction, poetry, non-fiction, children's literature, drama and self-published works.
  • The following types or writing are not eligible: multi-author anthologies, cookbooks, guidebooks, textbooks, technical manuals, bibliographies and works of a purely academic or scholarly nature. Books of less than 48 pages (except children's literature), books that are not written in English or French, multi-authored books (if any one of the authors is not a Calgarian), and reprints or new editions of previously published books are also not eligible.

Submissions for The W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

Submissions for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize are accepted in accordance with the Alberta Literary Awards timelines, which run October through December of the award year.

All submissions have now been received for consideration for the 2018 Calgary Awards, W.O. Mitchell Book Prize. Thank you to all who submitted. For more information, please contact the Writers' Guild of Alberta at 1-800-665-5354 or visit