

LIVERY TRANSPORT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MINUTES of SPECIAL MEETING COMMENCING 2017, NOVEMBER 15 AT 10:04 AM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Tongjie Zhang-General Public, Chair

Cheryl McLaughlin-General Public, Vice Chair

Spencer Villam-Calgary Hotel Association

Lui Greco-General Public Lisa Skierka-General Public Gordon Lowe-General Public

Robert McGregor-Limousine Driver

Lauri Brunner-Advisory Committee on Accessibility

Ian Lawson-Limousine Broker

Kaleigh Maher-Calgary Airport Authority Sherri DiVincentis-Tourism Calgary

Clement Gulston-Transportation Network Company Driver

Travis Gaede-City Transportation Planning (non-voting) Ken Richards-Calgary Police Services (non-voting) Steve Dawson-Livery Transport Services (non-voting)

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jaskaran Randhawa-Taxi Driver

Vacant-Taxi Broker

Vacant-Transportation Network Company

CITY SUPPORT STAFF PRESENT:

Kathleen Miller-Letendre-LTAC Admin. Support Carmen Hindson-Senior Business Strategist

ASCERTAIN QUORUM

The Chair ascertained that quorum was present.

CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

CONFIRM AGENDA, Moved by Cheryl McLaughlin that the Agenda for today's meeting be confirmed. **CARRIED**

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

CONFIRM MINUTES, Moved by Robert McGregor that the Minutes of the 2017, October 25 meeting of the Livery Transport Advisory Committee be confirmed. **CARRIED**

DECLARATION OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

The following persons declared a pecuniary interest:

Robert McGregor, Limousine Driver Ian Lawson, Limousine Broker Clement Gulston, Transportation Network Company Driver

CHAIR'S OPENING REMARKS

The Chair thanked everyone for attending and introduced new members of LTAC, Sherry DiVincentis, representative of Tourism Calgary; Lui Greco and Lisa Skierka both representatives of the general public; Kaleigh Maher, representative of the Calgary Airport Authority all appointed for a 1 year term ending 2018. The Chair confirmed the following reappointments, which were also made at the 2017 October 30 Organizational Meeting of Council: Ian Lawson, member limousine brokers; Robert McGregor, representative limousine drivers; Gordon Lowe and Cheryl McLaughlin both representatives of the general public all appointed for a 1 year term ending 2018. Council made a motion to leave the following positions vacant: Representative for taxi brokers; and Member of Transportation Network Companies. Administration reappointments for terms ending in 2019 Travis Gaede, Transportation Planning, Deputy Chief Livery Inspector Steve Dawson, Compliance Services and A/Sergeant Ken Richards, Calgary Police Service. Council also appointed Tongjie Zhang to serve as Chair of LTAC for the 2017/2018 term.

Thank you to both Linda Ciurysek past representative for general public and Kurt Enders Representative for taxi brokers for their assistance in past years.

NEW ITEMS

LTAC2017-52 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

The Chair announced that a Vice Chair needed to be elected. Spencer Villam nominated Lisa Skierka and Gord Lowe nominated Cheryl McLaughlin, both accepted their nomination. The Chair asked 3 times for further nominations. No more were provided. Motion by Gord Lowe to close nominations. **CARRIED**.

Nominations were then declared closed by the Chair. A ballet vote was taken by voting LTAC members. Ballets were counted by Steve Dawson (non-voting LTAC member) and Kathleen Miller-Letendre (Clerk) with Cheryl McLaughlin having majority vote. The Chair declared Cheryl McLaughlin as Vice Chair.

LTAC2017-53 LTAC GOVERNANCE REVIEW

Presented by: Dan Hara, Hara Associates Incorporated and Carmen Hindson, Senior Business Strategist-Calgary Community Standards

Motion by Gord Lowe that LTAC adopt a combination of options A1 and A2 and direct LTAC Governance Review Subcommittee author an attachment for the 2017 December 06 SPC report outlining LTAC's recommendations; develop an implementation plan (for LTAC's approval) including committee membership, number of members and qualification selection matrix and report to SPC by end of Q1 2018.

CARRIED

The following individuals came forward to address the Committee: Cam Naghshineh, John Bliss, Wayne Bill (on behalf of Kurt Enders), Len Bellingham and Mizanur Rahman

Motion to go In Closed Meeting:

Motion: At 12:43pm moved by Gord Lowe that in accordance with Section 197 of the *Municipal Government Act*, Sections 17(1) and 19 of *the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act*, and section 13 of the LTAC Policy and Procedure Manual, LTAC will now move In Closed Meeting, in same room, to discuss considerations for further appointment to LTAC Governance Review Subcommittee. **CARRIED**

Pursuant to Section 197(6) of the *Municipal Government Act*, the following members of Administration was in attendance in the Closed Meeting: K. Miller-Letendre (clerk).

Motion to return to the public meeting:

Motion: At 12:49pm moved by Gord Lowe that LTAC will now revert to a public meeting with Tongjie Zhang in the Chair.

CARRIED

Rise and Report

Motion by Gord Lowe that LTAC appoint Spencer Villam, Lauri Brunner and Clement Gulston in addition to the current LTAC Governance Review Subcommittee. **CARRIED**

Motion by Gord Lowe that closed meeting discussions and confidential material distributed at the meeting remain confidential under Sections 17(1) and 19 of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. **CARRIED**

EXCUSING ABSENCE OF MEMBERS: All absent members gave prior notice to the Chair.

ADJOURNMENT

ADJOURN, Moved by Cheryl McL CARRIED	aughlin that the meeting adjourn. (12:51 p.m.)
	ivery Transport Advisory Committee is scheduled at 10:00 a.m. at Suite 101, 1212 31 Avenue NE
T Zhang, Chair	C McLaughlin, Vice Chair