Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award

The annual Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee (CAUAC) Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award is open to all Indigenous youth, including First Nations and non-status, Métis, and Inuit. Nominees must be between the ages of 14-24, and attending a junior or senior high school, or a post-secondary institution. As well, nominees must be living within Calgary city limits or attending a Calgary school.

The Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award recognizes youth who:

  • Are leaders in their community and among their peers.
  • Display a strong commitment to achieving their educational goals.
  • Support and encourage others to pursue their education.
  • Encourage and participate in cross-cultural activities involving Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities.

The Award recipient will be also given the opportunity to represent Indigenous youth as a member of the Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee. The winner of the award will receive a bursary worth $1,000.

2023 award

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2023 award

There are two ways to apply. Youth are able to apply for the award and bursary themselves or they can be nominated by someone else. Whether you are applying for the award yourself, or nominating a youth, please ensure that you have filled out all the sections and included all the attachments. Incomplete forms will not be considered. No posthumous nominations are permitted.

Applications and nominations will be accepted until 4:30 p.m. on May 19, 2023. Winners will be notified early June and are asked to be available for the award presentation on June 22, 2023.

Forward nominations by email, fax, or mail to:

CAUAC Chief Crowchild Awards Committee
Email: CAUAC1@calgary.ca
Fax: 403-268-2322
Mail: Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee (#8065)
City of Calgary, P.O. Box 2100, Station M
Calgary, AB T2P 2M5

Recipients of the CAUAC Youth Achievement Award

The 2022 winner of the Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award was Jaityn LaBelle, or Atokaimakii (Drum woman)

Jaityn, or Atokaimakii (Drum woman), is a natural leader. She is actively involved with Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities, and maintains honour roll grades in academics. She demonstrates integrity, honour to her Indigenous culture, and a genuine kindness and understanding towards others. Jaityn is a founding member of the Indigenous Group at her High School and has led events for Orange Shirt Day and National Indigenous Day to further highlight Indigenous issues and engage peers and teachers in honest dialogue. Jaityn has been an integral part of choreographing and performing numerous dances that speak to Indigenous cultures, Canadian history and the idea of moving forward together with hope. She recently won an award for her work melding physics theories with hoop dance. Jaityn volunteers for many organizations and contributes her talents to support and inspire people, always with the idea of truth and reconciliation through education.

Jaityn is known for her gifts in hoop dancing, rugby, wrestling, horseback riding, and often shares her knowledge and expertise with organizations and schools within the community. She participated in the Alberta Indigenous Games and is hoping to compete in the North American Indigenous Games next year. Jaityn dreams of bringing the sciences and sports to Indigenous communities throughout the country and has been accepted to the University of Alberta in Kinesiology and Education program with plans to minor in the sciences.

Jaityn’s endless commitment and willingness to give back is recognized by teachers and mentors around her.

Her passion for learning about and sharing her culture with others is inspiring.

Past award recipients

2022: Jaityn LaBelle
2021: Isabella (Bella) Coderre
2020: Tyra Cross Child
2019: Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award was not presented due to a lack of nominations.
2018: Wacey Little Light
2017: Latasha Calf Robe
2016: Jolene Houle
2015: Macyn Morning Bull
2014: Angela Gladeau
2013: Nikkole Heavy Shield
2012: Alaine Crowchief
2011: Neepin Auger
2010: Chantel Large
2009: Caitlyn Pantherbone
2006: Kristen Acuna
2005: Jessica McMann
2004: Ms. Melinda Bain
2003: Ms. Nicole Akuna
2002: Ms. Autumn Eagle Speaker
2001: Mr. Jason Wuttanee, Ms. Robin Twigg, Ms. Nellie Meguinis
2000: Mr. Darcy Turning Robe
1999: Ms. Amanda Chersinoff
1998: Mr. Christopher Buggins
1997: Mr. Bryce Starlight
1996: Mr. Blue Cloud Michael Eaglespeaker Williams
1995: Mr. Shawn Gary Wade Butt
1994: Ms. Rozalyn Prairie Chicken
1993: Ms. Vada Hoof
1992: Ms. Bobbie Jo Turning Robe​​​​​​​​​​​​