Caution | State of local emergency renewed until May 24, 2021

Get Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates and information on closures, cancellations and service changes.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates View our closures and service changes

Eligibility requirements and selection information

Eligibility requirements

The following eligibility requirements apply to all Calgary Award categories (exceptions noted). For specific award criteria, visit the appropriate award category links.

  • Individual nominees must be residents of Calgary (permanent address in Calgary) for two years as of December 31, 2020. Exception: The International Achievement Award.
  • Groups, organizations or corporations must be Calgary-based or a local branch of a national or international organization.
  • Recipients are not eligible to receive an award within five years of having received an award for the same achievement in any category. Exception: The W.O. Mitchell Book Prize
  • Nominees may only be nominated for one award in a given year.
  • Nominees must not currently hold political office. Exception: The W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.
  • Current and former City of Calgary employees or elected officials are not eligible for a Calgary Award for their work as a City employee or elected official. Similarly, City business units and City projects are not eligible for a Calgary Award.
  • Self-nominations for individuals require at least one letter of reference. Not required for organizations who self-nominate. 
​​​​ ​

Selection information

  • Each Calgary Award is given to an individual, group, organization or corporation depending on the criteria for that award.
  • Only one recipient is selected for an award. In some circumstances, no recipient is selected.
  • The Calgary Awards juries selects all award recipients and base their decision solely on the information provided in the nomination package.

Contact us

For more information, call 403-268-8881 or email