The Calgary Awards

The Calgary Awards

In 1994, The City of Calgary established The Calgary Awards to celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made by Calgarians. Each year, individuals, corporations, community groups, and organizations are nominated in five major award categories, for a total of 13 awards.

Nominations for the 29th Annual Calgary Awards

Nominations accepted from January 4 to February 1, 2023 for the 29th Annual Calgary Awards.

Join the Calgary Awards email list to stay up-to-date.

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

Submissions will be accepted from October 11 to December 31, 2022, for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.

Learn more or submit a publication for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.


Scroll to the bottom of the page and use Google Translate to change the text.

使用頁面最下方的 Google Translate 改變顯示文本的語言。

滚动到页面底部并使用谷歌翻译(Google Translate)更改文本。

Mag-scroll sa ilalim ng pahina ng web at gamitin ang Google Translate upang baguhin ang teksto.

ਇਹ ਫਾਰਮ ਲਾਜ਼ਮੀ ਤੌਰ ਤੇ ਅੰਗ੍ਰੇਜ਼ੀ ਵਿਚ ਪੂਰਾ ਕੀਤਾ ਜਾਣਾ ਚਾਹੀਦਾ ਹੈ। ਤੁਹਾਡੀ ਸਹਾਇਤਾ ਲਈ ਦੀ ਵਰਤੋਂ ਕਰੋ।

웹 페이지 하단으로 이동한 후 구글 번역기를 사용해  글을 변환하십시오.

पृष्ठ के निचले भाग तक स्क्रोल करें और टेक्स्ट बदलने के लिए गूगल ट्रांस्लेट (Google Translate) का उपयोग करें।

2022 Calgary Awards recipients

Congratulations to the 2022 Calgary Awards recipients! These amazing individuals share their passion, knowledge, and focus to the betterment of our city, while blazing trails for others to follow. The Awards were presented on June 15, 2022. 

Award Recipient

The Community Achievement Awards

Arts Xstine P. Cook
Citizen of the Year Jane Wachowich
Commerce Not awarded
Community Advocate - Individual Lanre Ajayi
Community Advocate - Organization Sagesse
Education Dr. Turin Chowdhury
Grant MacEwan Lifetime Achievement David Este
Heritage Madisen Hvidberg
Youth Alexander Greco

The Award for Accessibility

Accessible Housing for Inclusio

The Environmental Achievement Award

Miistakis Institute
Honourable mention Soap for Hope Canada

The International Achievement Award

Barry Sanders

W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

Jaspreet Singh for My Mother, My Translator

Learn more about each recipient and watch the awards ceremony video.

Award categories


Youth award sponsor: 

Event sponsor: 


Contact us

For more information, call 403-268-8881 or email