Masks or facial coverings are required in City-operated facilities, public transit and ride share.

Face covering requirements | Re-opening information

Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award

The Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee (CAUAC) Youth Achievement Award annually recognizes Indigenous youth who:

  • Are leaders in their community and among their peers
  • Display a strong commitment to achieving their educational goals
  • Support and encourage others to pursue their education
  • Encourage and participate in cross-cultural activities involving Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities​

The award is open to all Indigenous youth, including status and non-status First Nations, Métis and Inuit. Nominees must be between the ages of 14-24, attending junior or senior high school, or a post-secondary institution. As well, nominees must be living within Calgary city limits or attending a Calgary school. The award recipient will be given the opportunity to represent Indigenous youth as a member of the Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee.

Youth are able to apply for the award and bursary themselves. There is still an opportunity for someone to nominate a youth, however, if a youth would like to apply for the award and bursary, they are welcome to do so. Whether you are applying for the award yourself, or someone is nominating a youth, please ensure that you have filled out all of the sections and included all of the attachments. Incomplete forms will not be considered. No posthumous nominations are permitted.

Applications and nominations are open

Applications and nominations will be accepted until 4:30 p.m. on June 30, 2021.  Winners will be notified in late August and are asked to be available for the award presentation on Sept. 16, 2021.

Recipients of the CAUAC Youth Achievement Award

The 2020 winner of the Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award is Tyra Cross Child

Oki, my name is Tyra Cross Child. I am 20-years-old and attend the University of Calgary in the International Indigenous Studies program. I am from the Kainai Nation but I was born and raised in Medicine Hat.

My main goal is to obtain my Masters of Social Work. I love to work with youth, and I want to help them succeed. I work part time as a student program assistant with Canada Bridges, and this job experience has helped me grow and has allowed me to work with youth in Siksika Nation to which I also call home.   

Award recipeints:

2020: Tyra Cross Child
2019: Aboriginal Youth Achievement Award was not presented due to a lack of nominations.
2018: Wacey Little Light
2017: Latasha Calf Robe
2016: Jolene Houle
2015: Macyn Morning Bull
2014: Angela Gladeau
2013: Nikkole Heavy Shield
2012: Alaine Crowchief
2011: Neepin Auger
2010: Chantel Large
2009: Caitlyn Pantherbone
2006: Kristen Acuna
2005: Jessica McMann
2004: Ms. Melinda Bain
2003: Ms. Nicole Akuna
2002: Ms. Autumn Eagle Speaker
2001: Mr. Jason Wuttanee, Ms. Robin Twigg, Ms. Nellie Meguinis
2000: Mr. Darcy Turning Robe
1999: Ms. Amanda Chersinoff
1998: Mr. Christopher Buggins
1997: Mr. Bryce Starlight
1996: Mr. Blue Cloud Michael Eaglespeaker Williams
1995: Mr. Shawn Gary Wade Butt
1994: Ms. Rozalyn Prairie Chicken
1993: Ms. Vada Hoof
1992: Ms. Bobbie Jo Turning Robe​​​​​​​​​​​​