Making connections

Expanding the rapid transit network

The rapid transit network is a network of fast, frequent and reliable transit service that operates every 10 minutes or more, 15 hours per day, seven days a week. Calgary’s current rapid transit network includes the Red and Blue LRT lines, BRT (Bus Rapid Transit) routes, and four MAX rapid bus lines. 

Phase 1 of the Green Line LRT (Shepard to Eau Clare) is the largest LRT project to be constructed in our city’s history. This megaproject will connect communities from the southeast to downtown and the broader transit network through the Red and Blue lines and three MAX BRT lines. It includes:

Map of future rapid transit network (Green Line, Red Line, Blue Line, 4 MAX BRT lines)


km of new track


new stations


rapid transit connections

Connections across the city

Transit riders will be able to make transit connections to more communities, employment hubs and key destinations across the city. For example, within a 10-minute walk of the Green Line there are:

  • 70,000 Calgarians’ homes
  • 12 parks
  • 19 schools
  • 23 cultural facilities
  • 13 recreation centres
  • 7 Alberta Health Services facilities
  • 7 police and fire stations
  • 7 community associations
  • 6 post-secondary institutions
  • 6 Provincial and Federal service buildings
  • 3 libraries

... the Green Line will arrive every 10 minutes, 15 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Frequency, speed and convenience

The Green Line will run trains every 10 minutes, 15 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Wait and travel times will be reduced 20-25 minutes compared to existing bus service in the southeast.

Vehicle congestion and travel times on major roadways, like Deerfoot Trail, will be reduced 5-10%.

Expected travel times

The ride times for the Green Line will be as follows:

Section Expected ride time From To
Stage 1 37 minutes Shepard station 16 Avenue N. station
South portion 40-45 minutes Seton station 7 Avenue S.W. station
North portion 30-35 minutes 7 Avenue S.W. station 160 Avenue N. station
Full line 70-80 minutes Seton station 160 Avenue N. station

Transit Hubs

Transit hubs, or major transit stations, enable people to transfer between many transit routes, including:

  • Red Line and Blue Line LRTs
  • Rapid bus routes (MAX and BRTs)
  • Local bus routes
  • Regional transit connections to nearby communities such as Airdrie and Okotoks.

Transit hubs planned for Green Line:

Phase 1: Shepard station to Eau Claire station

Phase 2: Eau Claire station to 16 Avenue N. station