Caution | State of local emergency renewed until May 24, 2021

Get Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates and information on closures, cancellations and service changes.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates View our closures and service changes

Community Action on Mental Health and Addiction Stewardship Group

The Community Action on Mental Health and Addiction Stewardship Group provided leadership to the development of Calgary’s Mental Health and Addiction Strategy. This group also offered diverse viewpoints and expertise to initial reviews of Change Can’t Wait! fast pilot applications and endorsed the Calgary Mental Health and Addiction Community Strategy and Action Plan 2021-2023.

Name Organization Position/Job title

​Karen Gosbee

​Community Advocate

Stewardship Group Co-chair

Dr. Chris Eagle

Community Advocate

Stewardship Group Co-chair

Naheed Nenshi

The City of Calgary

Mayor of Calgary

Diane Colley-Urquhart

The City of Calgary

City Councillor, Ward 13

David Duckworth

​The City of Calgary

City Manager

Dr. Valerie Taylor

Alberta Health Services and University of Calgary

Department Head, Psychiatry

Dr. Karla Gustafson

Alberta Health Services

​Zone Medical Officer of Health

Janet Chafe

​Alberta Health Services

Executive Director, Addiction & Mental Health, Calgary Zone

Katie McLellan

Calgary Police Service

Deputy Chief

Steve Hardy

Warm Ventures

Resilience Innovation Synthesist

Nancy Mannix

​Alberta Family Wellness Initiative, Palix Foundation

Chair and Patron

​Karen Young

​United Way of Calgary and Area

President and CEO

Joanne Pitman

​Calgary Board of Education

​Superintendent, School Improvement

Andrea Holowka

​Calgary Catholic School District

Superintendent, Instructional Services

Debbie Bruckner

​University of Calgary

Senior Director, Student Wellness, Access & Support

Dr. Paul Arnold

Mathison Centre for Mental Health Research & Education, University of Calgary


Dr. David Park

Hotchkiss Brain Institute, University of Calgary


Dr. William Ghali

O'Brien Institute for Public Health, University of Calgary

Scientific Director

Bryan de Lottinville



Curtis Stange​

ATB Fin​ancial​

​President and CEO​

Whitney Issik

Government of Alberta


Jim Gibson​

Thin Air Labs


Mark Fitzgerald


President and CEO​