Humpy Hollow Park
About the park
The historic McHugh House was donated to The City of Calgary in 2014 and is preserved on the Humpy Hollow Park site. The house was built in 1896 and is one of the ten oldest houses in Calgary.
It was originally built for John Joseph McHugh, one of three brothers originally from Ottawa who were prominent Calgary pioneers and ranchers. The house is an early, rare, and intact example of Queen Anne Revival-style architecture in Calgary.
Humpy Hollow Park was named in 1976 through a contest run by the Calgary Activettes Club (a local women's social and charitable group). The contest judged names suggested by local school children and the name was chosen for the geographical humps and hollows of the existing site. Over 45 years later, it is still known as Humpy Hollow Park.
Humpy Hollow Park is located at the corner of 17 Avenue SW and Centre Street S.
There are numerous community and public parks in Calgary to explore.
Need additional information on our parks and activities? Want to request maintenance?