Mayor's Urban Design Awards - 2019 winners

1. Conceptual/Theoretical Urban Design Projects

WINNER: 5th Street Underpass Enhancement
Owner: The City of Calgary
Architect: DIALOG & Jill Anholt Studio

2. Urban Design Plans

WINNER: 9th Avenue SE Master Plan
Owner: The City of Calgary
Architect: DIALOG

  • Honourable Mention

    Rivers District Master Plan

    ​Owner: Calgary Municipal Land Corporation (CMLC) Lead Urban

    Designer/Landscape Architect: Civitas Inc.

3. Urban Architecture

WINNER: YW Calgary Hub Facility
Owner: YW Calgary
Architect: Kasian Architecture Interior Design
Landscape Architects: Scatliff+Miller+Murray

  • Honourable Mention


    ​Owner: Truman Development Corporation

    Planner: CivicWorks

    Architects: S2 Architecture Landscape

    Architects: Navagrah Landscape Architecture + Urban Design

  • Honourable Mention

    Park Point

    ​Owner: Qualex-Landmark

    Architects: IBI/HB Architects

4. Civic Design Projects

​​​WINNER: West Eau Claire Park
Owner: The City of Calgary
Architect: O2 Planning + Design

  • Honourable Mention

    The Fourth Street SW Underpass Enhancement

    ​Owner: The City of Calgary

    Architects: the marc boutin architectural collaborative

5. Urban Fragments

WINNER: Delta Garden + The City Unseen
Artists: Caitland r.c. Brown & Wayne Garett Landscape
Architects: O2 Planning + Design

  • Honourable Mention

    BRT Transitway Stations

    ​Owner: The City of Calgary – Transit Architects: GEC Architecture

6. Community Initiatives Award

WINNER: Beltline Urban Murals Project (BUMP)
Owner: Beltline Neighbourhoods Association
Project Designers: Peter Schryvers & Peter Oliver


  • Honourable Mention

    Gopher Park

    ​Project Designer: Community Partnership led by Cold Garden Brewery and Inglewood BIA

  • Honourable Mention

    17 Avenue SW Pocket Square

    ​Owner: Cliff Bungalow/Mission Community Association and Calgary Board of Education

    Designers: The Bench Project

    Landscape Architects: Ground Cubed

7. ​The Mawson Urban Design Award

WINNER: New Central Library
Owner: The City of Calgary
Designers: Snøhetta & DIALOG

  • Honourable Mention

    The Livery

    ​Owner: Ansonia Properties

    Architects: Modern Office of Design + Architecture

8. City Edge Development

WINNER: West District Master Plan
Owner: Truman Development Corporation
Planner: CivicWorks Architects: S2 
Architecture  Landscape Architects: Navagrah Landscape Architecture + Urban Design, HDR​

  • Honourable Mention

    Attabotics HQ

    ​Owner: Attabotics Inc.

    Architects: Modern Office of Design + Architecture

  • Honourable Mention

    Joane Cardinal-Schubert High School

    ​Owner: Calgary Board of EducationArchitects: Gibbs Gage Architects

  • Honourable Mention

    University of Calgary Veterinary Medicine Clinical Skills Building Expansion

    Owner: University of Calgary

    Architects: Stantec Architecture Ltd.​

9. Great City, Great Design

WINNER: The Sunalta Community Hub 
Owner: The City of Calgary and Sunalta Community Association 
Architects: the marc boutin architectural collaborative

  • Honourable Mention

    Vecova Centre For All Abilities

    ​Owner: Vecova

    Architect: GEC Architecture

  • Honourable Mention

    East Village Dog Park

    ​Owner: Calgary Municipal Land Corporation (CMLC)

    Project Designer: Stantec Consulting Ltd.

10. Green City

WINNER: Mackimmie Complex And Professional Facilities Building Redevelopment Project 
Owner: University of Calgary 
Architect: DIALOG

11. Housing Innovation

WINNER: Rosedale Affordable Housing Owner: The City of Calgary Affordable HousingArchitect: FAAS Architecture

  • Honourable Mention

    LifeOwner: RNDSQR

    ​Architect: 5468796 Architecture Planner CivicWorks

  • Honourable Mention


    ​Owner: Strategic Group

    Architects: Zeidler Architects



12. Student Projects

WINNER: Reimagine Catwalks
Designers: Leticia Chapa & Taylor Felt

  • Honourable Mention

    Transitioning: Streetcar Reminiscence Plaza

    ​Designer: Thu Ngo

  • Honourable Mention


    ​Designer: Raiyan UI Momin

People's Choice Award


    Personal Care Building

    ​Architect: FarMor Architecture


    New Central Library

    ​Architects: Snøhetta + DIALOG


    The Ivy

    ​Owner: Brookfield Residential Designer: Stantec Architecture Ltd.



    ​Owner: Attabotics Inc Architect: Modern Office of Design + Architecture