Alert | State of Local Emergency in Effect

City declares State of Local Emergency. Water restrictions and Fire ban in place. Our water is safe to drink.

Water Saving Tips, FAQs, more information

Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award

Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award

The Calgary Aboriginal Urban Affairs Committee (CAUAC) Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award is presented each year to honour the efforts and contributions​​​ of a person, group or organization both Indigenous and non-Indigenous who have:

  • Demonstrated leadership in building relationships between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities in Calgary.
  • Displayed a commitment to building bridges between the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities.
  • Supported and encouraged effective engagement and activities between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities.
  • Created and supported positive changes in their community.

2024 award

2024 award winner: Deborah Green (Gopher)

ᑳᑭᑫ ᒪᓂᑐᐦᑳᐣ ᐃᐢᑫᐧᐤ

Deborah Green (Gopher) is a proud Nehiyaw Iskwew (Cree woman) from the Kawacatoose and Piapot’s First Nations in Saskatchewan. Her journey began many years ago with the history of her ancestors, and the intergenerational impacts of Canada’s history with Indigenous Peoples, within her family. She experienced barriers to fair opportunities, racism, intergenerational trauma, and wanted to make her life’s work dedicated to drive change for future generations.

Deborah has 20+ years’ experience in Diversity and Indigenous HR solutions, keynote and panel speaking, and extensive community advocacy. She has developed and integrated workforce diversity strategies, policies, and processes, fostering inclusive work environments, and ensuring leader accountability within corporate, oil and gas, education, and private consulting industries. Deborah has an extensive network within Canada, and is established and recognized as an authentic, humble subject matter specialist, and role model in the Indigenous Community, and within mainstream society. She is the recipient of the Urban Society for Aboriginal Youth “Changemaker” Award and was gifted an “Esquao” Award from the Institute for the Advancement of Aboriginal Women. Her passion is evident in the changes she has driven from seeing pride in Indigenous youth, equitable Indigenous employment in Canada, and the education and awareness of all Canadians about the true colonial history of the country.

Past award winners

2023 - 1986

2023: Lowa Beebe
2022: Alvin Manitopyes
2021: Christy Morgan
2020: Colleen Runner Waskewitch
2019: Steve Kootenay-Jobin​
2018: Shawna Morning Bull
2017: Elaine Cairns
2016: Shawna Cunningham
2015: USAY/UofC; Uncovering Colonial Legacies
2014: Cindy Provost
2013: Carol Mason
2012: Leonard Bastien
2011: Mike Lickers
2010: Sandra Crazy Bull
2009: Vinnia Van Over Dyke
2008: Gloria Skinner
2007: Audrey Weasel Traveller
2006: Al Duerr
2005: Major Ed Boucher, (Retired)
2004: Ghost River Rediscovery
2002: Mr. Geoff Burtonshaw
2001: Mr. Pablo Russell, Mr. Michael Robinson
2000: Mr. Harry Huish
1999: Rev. Margaret Waterchief, Mr. Casey Eagle Speaker
1998: Mrs. Annie Bare Shin Bone
1997: Mr. Art Cunningham
1996: Ms. Joan Ryan
1995: Mr. Tom Jackson
1994: Mr. George Calliou
1993: Aboriginal Opportunities Committee - Chamber of Commerce
1992: Mr. Ronald Vivier
1991: Ms. Doreen Spence
1990: Mr. Harold Millican
1989: Calgary Indian Friendship Centre
1988: Mr. Hart A. Cantelon
1987: Mr. Nelson Gutnick
1986: Ms. Pauline Gladstone-Dempsey​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

2024 award winner: Deborah Green (Gopher) ᑳᑭᑫ ᒪᓂᑐᐦᑳᐣ ᐃᐢᑫᐧᐤ