Masks or facial coverings are required in City-operated facilities, public transit and ride share.

Face covering requirements | Re-opening information

Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award

Each year this award is presented to honour the efforts and contributions​​​ of a person, group or organization both Indigenous and non-Indigenous who have:

  • Demonstrated leadership in building relationships between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities in Calgary
  • Displayed a commitment to building bridges between the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities
  • Supported and encouraged effective engagement and activities between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities
  • Created and supported positive changes in their community

Nominations are open

Nominations will be accepted until 4:30 p.m. on June 30, 2021.  Winners will be notified in late August and are asked to be available for the award presentation on Sept. 16, 2021.

Recipients of the Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award

The 2020 Winner of Chief David Crowchild Memorial Award is Colleen Runner Waskewitch

Colleen Runner Waskewitch is the Guest Services Manager at the Grey Eagle Resort and has served serval different roles on the Tsuut’ina Nation. Through a variety of executive roles she had on the Tsuut’ina Nation, Colleen accomplished several major projects. Among the projects she is proud of is leading the negotiations for the Newly Formed Tsuut’ina Police Force’s Tripartite Agreement. Colleen is passionate about building relationships with the citizens of Calgary through her work in hospitality and in her personal life, while fostering collaboration on her many projects.

When she is not at work, you can find her volunteering her time as Vice President of the Board of the Awotaan Women’s Shelter in Calgary. She has committed her time and skills to helping those dealing with rights and issues of Indigenous women.

As a Tsuut’ina Nation Member, Colleen has been integral to the Grey Eagle Resort and Casino as a Tsuut’ina Ambassador, and she plays a key role in the communication, promotion and representation of the Tsuut’ina people’s culture and traditions. She also took responsibility of nurturing and training young Tsuut’ina members who are interested in the hospitality experience.

Colleen was drawn to the Grey Eagle Resort for its vision to create a positive and lasting legacy for the Tsuut’ina community and appreciates the opportunity given to her to be part of this vision. She takes great pride in the development of and representation within her community and the significant economic opportunities it will empower for generations to come.

In her spare time, she owns and operates a cattle company called “Yellow Rose Ranch”. She also shares a Gravel Truck Company called “Waskewitch Trucking” with her husband. She enjoys traveling, camping and fishing with her family in the great outdoors. Colleen was a finalist for the Mayor’s White Hat Award in 2018.

Colleen loves her career and prides herself on being a hard-working professional and skilled ambassador. When talking with Colleen no matter what the situation, you can always expect open and honest communication, integrity and professionalism. Siyisgaas


Award recipients:
2020: Colleen Runner Waskewitch
2019: Steve Kootenay-Jobin​
2018: Shawna Morning Bull
2017: Elaine Cairns
2016: Shawna Cunningham
2015: USAY/UofC; Uncovering Colonial Legacies
2014: Cindy Provost
2013: Carol Mason
2012: Leonard Bastien
2011: Mike Lickers
2010: Sandra Crazy Bull
2009: Vinnia Van Over Dyke
2008: Gloria Skinner
2007: Audrey Weasel Traveller
2006: Al Duerr
2005: Major Ed Boucher, (Retired)
2004: Ghost River Rediscovery
2002: Mr. Geoff Burtonshaw
2001: Mr. Pablo Russell, Mr. Michael Robinson
2000: Mr. Harry Huish
1999: Rev. Margaret Waterchief, Mr. Casey Eagle Speaker
1998: Mrs. Annie Bare Shin Bone
1997: Mr. Art Cunningham
1996: Ms. Joan Ryan
1995: Mr. Tom Jackson
1994: Mr. George Calliou
1993: Aboriginal Opportunities Committee - Chamber of Commerce
1992: Mr. Ronald Vivier
1991: Ms. Doreen Spence
1990: Mr. Harold Millican
1989: Calgary Indian Friendship Centre
1988: Mr. Hart A. Cantelon
1987: Mr. Nelson Gutnick
1986: Ms. Pauline Gladstone-Dempsey​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​