Alert | State of Local Emergency in Effect

City declares State of Local Emergency. Water restrictions and Fire ban in place. Our water is safe to drink.

Water Saving Tips, FAQs, more information

Level Up Calgary - Season One

Season One Level Up, Calgary!

The City’s Downtown Strategy team collaborated with the Calgary Board of Education (CBE), the Calgary Public Library, and Microsoft Canada to launch Level Up, Calgary! This is the first student Minecraft: Education Edition design challenge of its kind in Canada. CBE Students from all grade levels accessed a custom world, including the heart of Calgary’s downtown core rendered in Minecraft. Students were asked to submit a design in response to the following design prompt: How might we reimagine our public spaces to enrich the lives of Calgarians and strengthen our community?

Thank you to all students that demonstrated creativity, collaboration and problem-solving throughout the challenge. 

The City is now looking at opportunities to recreate student designs around the downtown. This could mean building real-word examples of the designs or representing them visually around the downtown.

The second season of Level Up Calgary, Season Two: Achievement Unlocked, launched in February 2023 where students download Calgary's downtown core to explore and interact with.

The Level Up! Award show from March 2, 2022

2021-2022 The Winners

  • Dr. E.W. Coffin School

    Division l winner

    Franco A., Kaylee C., Sammy G., Marek G., Yuna J., Rane M., Helia T., Max P., Morgan R., Taylor T., Finn V., Landon W., Joel W., Porter W., Alex Z., Graham C., Candice C., Kipling H., Rory H., Abigail K., Pierce L., Ansif R., and Max W.

  • Captain John Palliser School

    Division ll winner

    Poppy P.

  • Dr. Gordon Higgins School

    Division lll winner

    Areeb K., Nihchal (Nick) P., Ender S., Jashanjot S.

  • Centennial High School

    Division lV winner

    Tyson L., Ethan M., Andy X.​

2021-2022 The Finalists

Division I (K-3)

  • Dr. E.W. Coffin School

    Franco A., Kaylee C., Sammy G., Marek G., Yuna J., Rane M., Helia T., Max P., Morgan R., Taylor T., Finn V., Landon W., Joel W., Porter W., Alex Z., Graham C., Candice C., Kipling H., Rory H., Abigail K., Pierce L., Ansif R., and Max W.

  • West Springs School

    Jade B., Senna C., Madi C., Sophia C., Ava F., Ainsley F.. John G., Drew H., Ismael H., Finn H., Miller H., Jeffrey L., Ari L., Cameron M., Hayleigh M., Easton N., Rayya R., Amaia R., Sofiaa S., Claire S., Lyla W., Jack W.

  • Eric Harvie School

    Evelyn C.

Division II (Grades 4 – 6)

  • Hawkwood School

    Swasti B.​​

  • Simons Valley School

    Karsten P.

  • Captain John Palliser School

    Poppy P.

Division III (Grades 7 – 9)

Clarence Samson School

Jaden N., Araav K., Joravar S.​​

Willow Park School

Shyloh A., Reese M.

Dr. Gordon Higgins School

Areeb K., Nihchal (Nick) P., Ender S., Jashanjot S.

Tom Baines School

Armaan P.

Division IV (Grades 10 – 12)

  • Centennial High School

    Tyson L., Ethan M., Andy X.​

  • Joane Cardinal-Schubert High School

    Xavier G.

  • William Aberhart High School

    Daniyal A.

This information has no legal status and cannot be used as an official interpretation of the various bylaws, codes and regulations currently in effect. The City of Calgary accepts no responsibility to persons relying solely on this information. Web pages are updated periodically. ​