Alert | Mandatory outdoor water restrictions in effect - critical water main break affecting city-wide usage

City-wide indoor and outdoor water restrictions are in place. A fire ban is in effect. The boil water advisory has been lifted.

More information

Municipal Employees Benefit Association of Calgary (MEBAC)

Municipal Employees Benefit Association of Calgary (MEBAC) manages and administers employee contributions to The City of Calgary employee benefits plan. It also partners and negotiates with The City on changes to benefits.

The common objective is to deliver a consistent, competitive level of benefits to employees--using strength in numbers to get better coverage and keep costs as low as possible.

Membership in MEBAC consists of all but one of The City's unions and associations. The MEBAC board-which includes City representatives--meets regularly to monitor the benefits program and develop strategy for the future. The Annual General Meeting is held in June each year. All employees represented by MEBAC member unions and associations are welcome to attend.

See the list of member unions and associations to become better aware of how MEBAC is structured.

Annual General Meeting

June 19, noon - 1 p.m.

Join us June 19 from noon – 1 p.m. in the Patricia A. Whelan Performance Hall at the Calgary Central Library for the 2024 MEBAC Annual General Meeting. Registration begins at 11:30 a.m., with the meeting beginning at noon.

The Annual General Meeting is a great opportunity to meet MEBAC representatives, receive financial updates, ask questions, and learn more about your benefits.

There will be free lunch provided for the first 125 registrants. All MEBAC members are invited; please bring your City ID.

2022 MEBAC AGM minutes

Participating unions and associations

All City of Calgary unions and associations, except for one, are part of MEBAC. Together, they work towards competitive, attractive benefits for employees, and manage the costs of providing those benefits.

MEBAC executive

MEBAC Administrator  Linda Jimoh


Trustee Deb Magson
Alternate Aminda Galappaththi

ATU Local 583

Trustee / President Mike Mahar
Alternate Ab Huskic

Calgary Police Association

Trustee Graham Ernst
Alternate John Burdyny

City of Calgary - Finance

Trustee (non-voting) Todd Rathie
Alternate (non-voting)

Nicole Hiscock

City of Calgary - Human Resources

Trustee (non-voting) Monica Storer
Alternate (non-voting) Moira Game

CUPE Local 37 (Outside Workers)

Trustee / Secretary Jody Sallans
Alternate Matt Sjogren

CUPE Local 38 (Inside Workers)

Trustee D'Arcy Lanovaz
Alternate Sasha Wallis

CUPE Local 709

Trustee / Vice President Frank Donegan
Alternate Daniel Payne

IBEW Local 254

Trustee / Treasurer Anthony Montanaro

Jacqui Skelton

Society of Professional Engineers

Trustee Dallas Smith
Alternate Marco Mazzolani

Sr. Management Team Association

Trustee Christopher Collier


Sr. Police Officers Association

Trustee Paul Wozney

Shane Plamondon

UB Carpenters Local 2103