Share this page Print

The Calgary Awards

Edit text hero image item

The Calgary Awards

In 1994, The City of Calgary established The Calgary Awards to celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made by Calgarians. Each year, individuals, corporations, community groups, and organizations are nominated in five major award categories, for a total of 13 awards.

The Calgary Awards nomination period is closed. Nominators will be contacted in May.

Alternatives for the live presentation of The Calgary Awards scheduled for Wednesday, June 10, 2020 are being explored. Please check back for updates.

W.O. Mitchell Book Prize Update:

The City of Calgary and the Writers’ Guild of Alberta are pleased to announce the shortlisted authors for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize, one of 13 awards presented as part of The Calgary Awards.

The three finalists are:

  • Sharon Butala for Season of Fury and Wonder (Coteau Books)
  • Naomi K. Lewis for Tiny Lights for Travellers (University of Alberta Press)
  • Teresa Wong for Dear Scarlet: The Story of my Postpartum Depression (Arsenal Pulp Press)

To read the summaries and excerpts of these books visit

Award Categories

ID: 482

ListCategory: Calgary Awards

Title: The Award for Accessibility


MultiCardImage:, The Award for Accessibility

MultiCardImageRatio: ratio-16x9

MultiCardLink:, /CA/city-clerks/Pages/Administration-services/Calgary-Awards/Award-for-Accessibility.aspx

LinkTarget: True

ShowOnline: True

SortOrder: 10


Edit multi card item

The Award for Accessibility

Edit multi card item

The Community Achievement Awards

Edit multi card item

The Environmental Achievement Award

Edit multi card item

The International Achievement Award

Edit multi card item

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

Contact Us

For more information please contact 403-268-8881 or

Oil City Press LTD.