Get updates on changes to City services and closures.

View COVID-19 info and support

The Calgary Awards

The Calgary Awards

In 1994, The City of Calgary established The Calgary Awards to celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made by Calgarians. Each year, individuals, corporations, community groups, and organizations are nominated in five major award categories, for a total of 13 awards.

Congratulations to the 2019 Calgary Award recipients!

View biographies, photos and video of the 2019 recipients

Nominations for 2020 achievements

Looking to nominate someone for achievements in 2020? 

Nominations will open on January 6, 2021.

Join the Calgary Awards email list for a reminder when nominations open.

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

Submissions will be accepted from October 13, 2020 to December 31, 2020 for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.

Learn more or submit a publication for The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.


Award categories


Youth award sponsor: 

Event sponsor: 


Contact us

For more information, call 403-268-8881 or email